top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshwin Gohil

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Deepa Agarwal


Deepa Agarwal is a children's author. She lives in New Delhi but grew up in a town off the foothills in the Himalayas. She writes for children, but sometimes for adults too. Deepa writes a variety of genres: from funny to sad to scary-themed fiction. Deepa enjoys telling ancient Indian folktales, legends and myths through her work. Aside from fiction, she has described writing poetry as "one of the most important forms of creative expression" for her. I caught up with her below:

Hello, Madam. Thanks for getting back in touch! You say some of your work is simply made up. Where do you get the thoughts for these type of stories?

Hi, Ashwin. Many of my ideas come from real life or chance remarks that set me thinking. But sometimes it is the 'what if' factor that sparks off a story. I like to write fantasy since it allows you more freedom to imagine.


You have been a writer for many years. What's the best thing about your job?

The best thing is that you can create your own world. You can also communicate with a large number of people and express your opinions in your stories.


From reading your work, a lot of it is set in the Himalayas. What made this the focus for so much of your fiction?

My work is set in the Himalayan region because that's where I grew up. It is my home.


You have published so much! What's the longest time you have gone without writing?

Probably about two months. Apart from fiction I write articles and poetry as well.


Because of the variety of your fiction, do you tend to travel when you work or work in one place?

Not necessarily. I carry my work with me but it's not connected with my travel.


Do you have any plans to write non-fiction?

I have a biography in the pipeline and am also thinking about a real life adventure story.


And, finally, could you tell me a little more about the fantasy novel you're working on at the moment?

It's about a girl born with a special gift. The main theme is girls' education and sibling rivalry. Political manipulation creates the conflict.


Many thanks, Madam! Looking forward to reading the new novel!


More information on Deepa's upcoming fantasy novel can be found at the bottom of the following link:
You can also follow her on social media:
https://twitter.com/dipuli


COPYRIGHT: Deepa Agarwal
Some of Deepa's books


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page