top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshwin Gohil

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Dan Freedman

Updated: Aug 5, 2018

Dan Freedman is a children's author. He is the writer of the best-selling Jamie Johnson series. Dan has also worked as a Premier League editor and as a FIFA journalist. This includes interviewing the likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo (twice!), David Beckham, Michael Owen, Rio Ferdinand, Wayne Rooney, Steven Gerrard and Theo Walcott. In addition to this, my interviewee has written several FA Cup Final Programmes and I was so excited to meet him.

Hello, Dan. Thank you for agreeing to this. You've done so much work in the football industry and in your career. Do you support a football team?

Hi, Ashwin. Ajax and Barcelona are two teams who I admire greatly. In this country my dad was a big Spurs fan, so we saw a lot of football there together when I was younger.

The Jamie Johnson series has been successful. Are there any characters you've included who are based on anyone in real life?

I've based all of the characters on people I've met and past experiences!

What's the hardest book you wrote in the Jamie Johnson series?

It would have to be The Kick Off because I’d never written a book before that!

Moving away from the football and books for a minute! What would you tell your teenage self? I'd tell myself "It's ok"

And, finally, what was your inspiration for your upcoming novel, ‘Unstoppable’? These questions fuelled my drive for the book: How much will people let you get away with if you have talent?

How far will people drive you to achieve their version of your success?

Thank you so much for your time, Dan! Take care!

Dan's upcoming novel, 'Unstoppable' will be released in February 2019:


COPYRIGHT: Dan Freedman
The 'Jamie Johnson' series


Why not follow Dan on social media?


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page